Connect with us

Exploring the NBA Playoffs 2024:Schedule, Format, and Streaming Details

NBA new season

The NBA Playoffs 2024, a heart-pounding battle for the Larry O’Brien trophy, is just around the corner. Filled with anticipation, the teams have gone the extra mile to prove their worth for the NBA 2024 title. On Friday night, the play-in tournament, a pivotal part of the NBA playoffs, concluded with the New Orleans Pelicans and Miami Heat securing their division’s eighth and final playoff spot. The NBA playoffs 2024 are set to kick off on April 20, 2024, and will reach its crescendo in June 2024. With a rich history of NBA playoffs, the 1949 edition is the most memorable. Once the season starts, 30 teams will battle it out within the conference and the other conference team to secure their seat in the playoffs. The most successful teams are the Boston Celtics and Los Angeles Lakers, and other successful teams such as the Chicago Bulls, San Antonio Spurs, and Golden State Warriors have clinched the most NBA Championships. As expected, the Boston Celtics also dominated the Eastern Conference this season with their formidable home-court advantage.

The 2024 SoFi NBA Play-In Tournament, a stage set for a nail-biting competition, unfolded from April 16-19, 2024. This tournament, introduced in 2021 by the NBA Board of Governors, is a crucial part of the NBA playoffs as it determines the 7th and 8th places in each conference. In a heart-stopping match, the New Orleans Pelicans clashed with the Los Angeles Lakers, with the Lakers emerging triumphant with a score of 110-106. The Kings outshone the Warriors in the second game, scoring 118-94. The 76ers narrowly overcame the Miami Heat by a single point, securing their seventh place. With a stellar performance, the Bulls outplayed the Hawks with a score of 131. The final two games of the Play-In Tournament were a battle of nerves between the Heat and Bulls for the eighth spot in the Eastern Conference. The Miami Heat emerged as the victors with 112 points, securing their place in the playoffs. In the Western Conference, the Pelicans overcame the Kings with a score of 105-98, adding to the unpredictability and excitement of the tournament.

In the NBA playoffs 2024 format, eight teams were meticulously selected from the Eastern and Western Conferences and seated in the proper seeding order. The top spot was taken by the team with the highest regular season record, followed by the second-highest, and so on. The first six teams were chosen based on their winning percentage in the NBA regular season. As mentioned earlier, the 7th and 8th places were determined by the play-in tournament. Once both the Eastern and Western conferences had their eight teams, the NBA playoffs commenced. It involves elimination games between the top teams in the Eastern and Western conferences. The playoff format has evolved over the years, with changes in the number of teams, the inclusion of the play-in tournament, and the seeding process. Still, it typically features a best-of-seven series in each round, with the winner leveling up to the further round until the NBA championship is ultimately claimed.

advertisement

advertisement

How many games are there in the first round of the NBA playoffs?

All playoff series are best of seven with a 2-2-1-1-1 format. The higher seed hosts Games 1, 2,

5 and 7. The lower seed hosts Games 3, 4, and 6. The team with the most wins at the end of the series advances to the next round.

The first-round NBA playoff schedule is as follows:

Eastern Conference

No. 1 Celtics vs. No. 8 Heat

  • April 21, 2024 – 1:00 p.m. ET, 10:00 a.m PT, 10:30 p.m IST
  • April 24, 2024 – 7:00 p.m. ET, 4:00 p.m PT, 4:30 a.m IST (Next Day)
  • April 27, 2024 – 6:00 p.m. ET, 3:00 p.m PT, 3:30 a.m IST (Next Day)
  • April 29, 2024 – TBD
  • May 1, 2024 – TBD
  • May 3, 2024 – TBD
  • May 5, 2024 – TBD

No. 2 Knicks vs. No. 7 76ers

  • April 20, 2024 – 6:00 p.m. ET, 3:00 p.m PT, 3:30 a.m IST (Next Day)
  • April 22, 2024 – 7:30 p.m. ET, 4:30 p.m PT, 5:00 a.m IST (Next Day)
  • April 25, 2024 – 7:30 p.m. ET, 4:30 p.m PT, 5:00 a.m IST (Next Day)
  • April 28, 2024 – 1:00 p.m. ET, 10:00 a.m PT, 10:30 p.m IST
  • April 30, 2024 – TBD
  • May 2, 2024 – TBD
  • May 4, 2024 – TBD

No. 3 Bucks vs. No. 6 Pacers

  • April 21, 2024 – 7:00 p.m. ET, 4:00 p.m PT, 4:30 a.m IST (Next Day)
  • April 23, 2024 – 8:30 p.m. ET, 5:30 p.m PT, 6:00 a.m IST (Next Day)
  • April 26, 2024 – 5:30 p.m. ET, 2:30 p.m PT, 3:00 a.m IST (Next Day)
  • April 28, 2024 – 7:00 p.m. ET, 4:00 p.m PT, 4:30 a.m IST (Next Day)
  • April 30, 2024 – TBD
  • May 2, 2024 – TBD
  • May 4, 2024 – TBD

No. 4 Cavaliers vs. No. 5 Magic

  • April 20, 2024 – 1:00 p.m. ET, 10:00 a.m PT, 10:30 p.m IST
  • April 22, 2024 – 7:00 p.m. ET, 4:00 p.m PT, 4:30 a.m IST (Next Day),
  • April 25, 2024 – 7:00 p.m. ET, 4:00 p.m PT, 4:30 a.m IST (Next Day)
  • April 27, 2024 – 1:00 p.m. ET, 10:00 a.m PT, 10:30 p.m IST
  • April 30, 2024 – TBD
  • May 3, 2024 – TBD
  • May 5, 2024 – TBD

Western Conference

No. 1 Thunder vs. No. 8 Pelicans

  • April 21, 2024 – 9:30 p.m. ET, 6:30 p.m PT, 7:00 a.m IST (Next Day)
  • April 24, 2024 – 9:30 p.m. ET, 6:30 p.m PT, 7:00 a.m IST (Next Day)
  • April 27, 2024 – 3:30 p.m. ET, 12:30 p.m PT, 1:00 a.m IST (Next Day)
  • April 29, 2024 – TBD
  • May 1, 2024 – TBD
  • May 3, 2024 – TBD
  • May 5, 2024 – TBD

No. 2 Nuggets vs. No. 7 Lakers

  • April 20, 2024 – 8:30 p.m. ET, 5:30 p.m PT, 6:00 a.m IST (Next Day)
  • April 22, 2024 – 10:00 p.m. ET, 7:00 p.m PT, 7:30 a.m IST (Next Day)
  • April 25, 2024 – 10:00 p.m. ET, 7:00 p.m PT, 7:30 a.m IST (Next Day)
  • April 27, 2024 – 8:30 p.m. ET, 5:30 p.m PT, 6:00 a.m IST (Next Day)
  • April 29, 2024 – TBD
  • May 2, 2024 – TBD
  • May 4, 2024 – TBD

No. 3 Timberwolves vs. No. 6 Suns

  • April 20, 2024 – 3:30 p.m. ET, 12:30 p.m PT, 1:00 a.m IST (Next Day)
  • April 23, 2024 – 7:30 p.m. ET, 4:30 p.m PT, 5:00 a.m IST (Next Day)
  • April 26, 2024 – 10:30 p.m. ET, 7:30 p.m PT, 8:00 a.m IST (Next Day)
  • April 28, 2024 – 9:30 p.m. ET, 6:30 p.m PT, 7:00 a.m IST (Next Day)
  • April 30, 2024 – TBD
  • May 2, 2024 – TBD
  • May 4, 2024 – TBD

No. 4 Clippers vs. No. 5 Mavericks

  • April 21, 2024 – 3:30 p.m. ET, 12:30 p.m PT, 1:00 a.m IST (Next Day)
  • April 23, 2024 – 10:00 p.m. ET, 7:00 p.m PT, 7:30 a.m IST (Next Day)
  • April 26, 2024 – 8:00 p.m. ET, 5:00 p.m PT, 5:30 a.m IST (Next Day)
  • April 28, 2024 – 3:30 p.m. ET, 12:30 p.m PT, 1:00 a.m IST (Next Day)
  • May 1, 2024 – TBD
  • May 3, 2024 – TBD,
  • May 5, 2024 – TBD

Where to watch the 2024 NBA playoffs

NBA playoff games will be broadcast nationally across ESPN, TNT, NBA TV, and ABC. This comprehensive coverage ensures that fans can catch all the thrilling moments of the playoffs, no matter where they are.

ABC and ESPN games will be available to stream on ESPN.com and the ESPN app. TNT games can be streamed on TNTdrama.com and the TNT app. Games on NBA TV can be streamed on NBA.com and the NBA app.

NBA Outright Odds

NBA Weekly Odds

Minnesota Timberwolves vs. Dallas Mavericks

In the Western Conference finals, game two sets the stage for a fierce showdown between the Minnesota Timberwolves and Dallas Mavericks. Despite a setback in game one, the Timberwolves, known for their resilience, are poised to bounce back and show their true strength.

  • Date: May 25, 2024
  • Venue: Target Center (Minneapolis, MN)

This NBA 2023–24 season is excellent for the Minnesota Timberwolves, which made them the best season in the past 20 years. Before this, they were in the 2004 Western Conference finals, which Kevin Garnett led. Looking back on the playoff journey of the Timberwolves, in round one, they competed against the Phoenix Suns, and impressively, the Minnesota Timberwolves completely swept the Phoenix Suns by not allowing them to win a single game. In the conference semifinals, they went up to seven games; they won the opening and ending two games, and they are now almost there to hold the cup. On the other hand, after suffering in the last season, the Dallas Mavericks made a remarkable comeback in the Western Conference finals, which will be an excellent opportunity to advance into the NBA finals. They came this far by defeating the Los Angeles Clippers and the Western Conference table-top Oklahoma City Thunder. In Game 1 of the Conference Finals, the Mavericks beat the Timberwolves by stealing their home-court advantage with a score of 105-108.

In the previous game, Luka Dončić led the Dallas Mavericks with an impressive 33 points, 15 of which were scored in the crucial fourth quarter. Kyrie Irving also played a significant role, contributing 30 points, a substantial increase from his 24-point performance in the first half. The Mavericks’ dominance in the paint was another key factor in their victory, outscoring the Timberwolves with a 62-38 advantage in points inside. On the other hand, the Minnesota Timberwolves showcased their solid defense, allowing an average of 106.5 points per game and scoring 113.0. The Mavericks, in comparison, score 117.9 points per game and allow 115.6 points per game.

With Jaylen Clark of the Minnesota Timberwolves sidelined and the Dallas Mavericks missing key players Greg Brown, Maxi Kleber, and Olivier-Maxence Prosper, the upcoming game takes on a heightened significance. The Timberwolves are determined to prevent the Mavericks from securing a 2-0 lead in the series, particularly on their home court. The stakes are high, and both teams are prepared to leave it all on the court.

advertisement
advertisement

Must See